Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Review: Exposed

Title: Exposed
Author: Kimberly Marcus
Pages: 255
Publisher: Random House

"In the dim light of the darkroom, I'm alone, but not for long.
As white turns to gray, Kate is with me.
The background of the dance studio blurred, so the focus is all on her
legs extended in a perfect soaring split.
The straight line to my squiggle,
my forever-best friend."


Sixteen-year-old Liz is Photogirl—sharp, focused and confident in what she sees through her camera lens. Confident that she and Kate will be best friends forever.

But everything changes in one blurry night. Suddenly, Kate is avoiding her, and people are looking the other way when she passes in the halls. As the aftershocks from a startling accusation rip through Liz's world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship and herself shifts out of focus. What happens when the picture you see no longer makes sense? What do you do when you may lose everything you love most? Told in stunning, searingly raw free verse, Exposed is Kimberly Marcus's gut-wrenching, riveting debut and will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson and Virginia Euwer Wolff.


My Review 

This book wasn't anything special. I mean, don't get me wrong, the idea behind the book could have made an amazing story, given more thought and time for writing. A really great thing about this book is that it doesn't drag on and on at the beginning. It gets straight to the point. When books take forever to even start explaining the main plot, I just put them down, not bothering with the rest. I started and finished this book in the same day. It honestly was a lovely read. Not to mention, I'm a sucker for books written in verse. It helps the story flow and is very easy on the eyes. To be honest, if it wasn't written in verse, I probably wouldn't have finished it. I give this book 3 stars. It really is a great story, it just needed to be written better.




No comments:

Post a Comment